Marc Spears elected new chair of the Sports Task Force

Marc Spears

Marc Spears

PHILADELPHIA — The Sports Task Force voted in its new leadership team for 2011-2013 during the task force business meeting Saturday in Philadelphia, electing Marc Spears as chairman of the task force following current chairman Greg Lee’s ascension to NABJ’s presidency.

Here are the results of the vote, marking a number of changes in the group, including a newly elected position for vice president in social media.

Chairman: Marc Spears, Yahoo! Sports
Vice President of Broadcast: Galen Gordon, ESPN
Vice President of Print: Gary Washburn, The Boston Globe
Vice President of Public Relations: Tara August, Turner Sports
Vice President of Social Media: Adena Andrews, espnW
Secretary: A. Sherrod Blakely, Comcast SportsNet New England
Sargeant of Arms: David Steele, The Sporting News
East Region Representive: George Willis, New York Post
South Region Representive: Donovan Campbell, WSVN-TV Fort Lauderdale / Miami
West Region Representive: Jerry Brewer, Seattle Times
Midwest Region Representive: Kareem Copeland, Green Bay Press Gazette

This entry was posted in news by Zuri. Bookmark the permalink.

About Zuri

I’m a sports writer and producer for, originally from San Francisco. I’m a graduate of California State University, Chico and I’ve been writing for newspapers the last eight years, covering sports in Massachusetts and California as well as municipalities like Oakland and Nevada City. I’ve also penned an award-winning column for The Union’s sports section, touching on preps, pro and community sports.