Sports Writer of the Year: Carla Peay, Stephen A. Smith

Carla Peay, sports writer for The Washington Times, is the co-winner of the 2011 Black Press All Star Awards for Sports Writer of the Year.

Peay tied with ESPN columnist and radio host andNABJ Sports Task Force member Stephen A. Smith for the award. Peay and Smith received the most votes in a category that included  NABJSTF’s own host Michael Wilbon (ESPN ) and Tony Williams (MetroNY).

“It’s always an honor just to be nominated with such distinguished group of sports writers. I feel blessed and privileged to have won this award,”Peay said.

Read here for full article