NABJ Salutes Legendary Sports Writer Wendell Smith

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) inducted six legendary journalists into its Hall of Fame, the organization’s highest honor; and presented the Ida B. Wells Award, the annual honor highlighting the achievement of a media executive who has demonstrated a commitment to diversifying the nation’s newsrooms and improving the coverage of people and communities of color.

The ceremony was held on Thursday, January 17, 2013 at the Newseum in downtown Washington, DC. Proceeds of the gala benefit NABJ scholarship and fellowship programs. The program was hosted by Byron Pitts, 60 Minutes, CBS News, and Isha Sesay, CNN International/ Headline News.